General Health

General health issues, Medical conditions, Research and studies and more

Mental Health

Natural Medicine

Nutritional supplements, Herbs, Alternative medicine and more…

Wellness & Lifestyle

Nutrition, Diets, Healthy living, Detox, Exercise and Physical Fitness, Sports Fitness and more…

Women’s Health

Relationships, Pregnancy, Birth control, Menopause and more

Home » Information

The Nobel Prizes. About the Nobel Prizes. Facts and Lists.

Article / Review by on March 22, 2010 – 2:22 amNo Comments

The Nobel Prize Award Ceremonies

The Nobel Laureates take center stage in Stockholm on 10 December when they receive the Nobel Prize Medal, Nobel Prize Diploma and document confirming the Nobel Prize amount from King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden. In Oslo, the Nobel Peace Prize Laureates receive their Nobel Peace Prize from the Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee in the presence of King Harald V of Norway. An important part is the presentation of the Nobel Lectures by the Nobel Laureates. In Stockholm, the lectures are presented days before the Nobel Prize Award Ceremony. In Oslo, the Nobel Laureates deliver their lectures during the Nobel Peace Prize Award Ceremony.

The Nobel Prizes

Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and for peace. The Nobel Prize is an international award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden. In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank established The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize. Each prize consists of a medal, personal diploma, and a cash award

Facts and Lists

Since 1901, the Nobel Prize has been awarded to men and women from all corners of the globe for outstanding achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature, and for work in peace. In 1968, economic sciences added to the the list of fields. Here you can search and list information after your own wish!. 

All Nobel Prizes

Between 1901 and 2010, the Nobel Prizes and the Prize in Economic Sciences were awarded 543 times to 840 people and organizations. With some receiving the Nobel Prize more than once, this makes a total of 813 individuals and 20 organizations. Below, you can view the full list of Nobel Prizes and Nobel Laureates.

Nobel Prize Awarded Organizations

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded 23 times to organizations between 1901 and 2009. 20 individual organizations have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize, as UNHCR, the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, has received the Nobel Peace Prize twice, in 1954 and 1981, and the work of Comité international de la Croix Rouge (International Committee of the Red Cross) (ICRC) has been honoured three times, in 1917, 1944 and 1963. List of all Nobel Prizes >>>

Nobel Prize Awarded Women

The Nobel Prize and Prize in Economic Sciences have been awarded to women 41 times between 1901 and 2009. Only one woman, Marie Curie, has been honoured twice, with the 1903 Nobel Prize in Physics and the 1911 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. This means that 40 women in total have been awarded the Nobel Prize between 1901 and 2009.

List of all Nobel Prize Awarded Women >>>


Nobel Laureates and Research Affiliations

This list shows the universities, research institutions or companies Nobel Laureates were affiliated with at the time of the Nobel Prize announcement. Only Nobel Laureates in Physics, Chemistry and Physiology or Medicine, and Laureates in Economic Sciences are shown in the list. List of Nobel Laureates and Research Affiliations >>>

The Magic Call

Minutes just before the announcement, the Prize Awarding Institution calls the Nobel Laureates to inform them that they have been awarded the Nobel Prize. These calls can come at unexpected times and reach Nobel Laureates in unexpected places. Here are some recollections of those special moments when the “magic call” came through.

What Did the Nobel Laureates Read When They Were Young?

In their autobiographies, Nobel Laureates reveal their reading habits: how they got started, who spurred them to read on, and where they spent their time losing themselves between the pages of a book. Find out and compare with your own experience, or simply get inspired!  What Nobel Laureates Read

What the Nobel Laureates Receive

The highlight of the Nobel Prize Award Ceremony in Stockholm is when each Nobel Laureate steps forward to receive the Nobel Prize from the hands of His Majesty the King of Sweden. In Oslo, the Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee presents the Nobel Peace Prize in the presence of the King of Norway. Under the eyes of a watching world, the Nobel Laureate receives three things: a diploma, a medal and a document confirming the prize amount.

Nobel diploma  

The Nobel Prize Diplomas

Each Nobel Diploma is a unique work of art, created by foremost Swedish and Norwegian artists and calligraphers. The Literature diploma is written in parchment reminiscent of those used by medieval book illustrators. The other diplomas use specially ordered hand-made paper.
More about the Nobel Prize diplomas
Have a look at all the 2009 Nobel diplomas  

Nobel medal  

The Nobel Prize Medals

The Nobel medals in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine and Literature are identical on the face: it shows the image of Alfred Nobel and the years of his birth and death (1833-1896). Nobel’s portrait also appears on the Nobel Peace Prize Medal and the Medal for the Prize in Economic Sciences, but with a slightly different design. The image on the reverse varies according to the institution awarding the prize. All medals made before 1980 were struck in 23 carat gold. Today, they are made from 18 carat green gold plated with 24 carat gold.
More about the Nobel Prize medals

prize amount  

The Nobel Prize Amount

The Nobel Prize for 2009 was SEK 10 million (over USD 1 million) per full Nobel Prize. Until 1968, in principle more than three persons could share a Nobel Prize, but this never happened in practice. The previous wording of paragraph 4 of the Statutes governing the Nobel Prize was: “A prize may be equally divided between two works, each of which may be considered to merit a prize. If a work which is to be rewarded has been produced by two or more persons together, the prize shall be awarded to them jointly.” In 1968 this section was changed to read “In no case may a prize be divided between more than three persons”.
More about the Nobel Prize amount 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>