General Health

General health issues, Medical conditions, Research and studies and more

Mental Health

Natural Medicine

Nutritional supplements, Herbs, Alternative medicine and more…

Wellness & Lifestyle

Nutrition, Diets, Healthy living, Detox, Exercise and Physical Fitness, Sports Fitness and more…

Women’s Health

Relationships, Pregnancy, Birth control, Menopause and more

Home » Information, News

School of Nursing Founding Dean Loretta C. Ford Named to National Women’s Hall of Fame.

Article / Review by on March 8, 2011 – 10:16 pmNo Comments

School of Nursing Founding Dean Loretta C. Ford Named to National Women’s Hall of Fame


Dr. Loretta C. Ford, Founding Dean of the University of Rochester School of Nursing

Loretta C. Ford, R.N., P.N.P., F.A.A.N., F.A.A.N.P., founding Dean of the University of Rochester School of Nursing, will be one of 11 American women inducted to the National Women’s Hall of Fame this fall. The induction ceremony will take place September 30 and October 1 in Seneca Falls, the birthplace of the American Women’s Rights Movement.

Dr. Ford is an internationally renowned nurse leader who transformed the nursing profession and changed the delivery of health care by co-founding the nurse practitioner model at the University of Colorado in 1965 with Henry Silver, M.D., a pediatrician. Today there are more than 140,000 nurse practitioners in the United States.

In 1972, Dr. Ford became the founding Dean of the University of Rochester School of Nursing, where she implemented the unification model of practice, education and research. During her tenure, the educational mission of the School of Nursing also expanded beyond the bachelor’s and master’s degree programs to provide both doctoral and post-doctoral training. She retired in 1985, but continues to consult and lecture on the historical development of the role of nurse practitioners and on issues related to the advancement of nursing practice and health care policy.

The national Women’s Hall of Fame is the nation’s oldest membership organization recognizing the achievements of great American women. Inductees are selected every two years based on their lasting contributions to society through the arts, athletics, business, education, government, humanities, philanthropy and science. Founded in 1969, the National Women’s Hall of Fame has inducted 236 women since its inception. This year’s inductees join a notable group including Susan B. Anthony, Dr. Dorothy Haight, Maya Lin, Sandra Day O’Connor and Rosa Parks.

* For more information on all of this year’s inductees, visit 
** The above story is reprinted from materials provided by University of Rochester Medical Center 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>